First ever Urdu poem: “GUM”- My thoughts

Hey you all! πŸ™‚ I am really excited today because as the title says, I’m going to be posting my first ever Urdu poem. Now you know already that I write stuff and call it poetry, but it has always been in English. I’ve recently become really interested in Urdu literature and the language as a whole, even though I’m not really good at it, sadly.

The thing is, Urdu has this grace and elegance that I always thought I was not qualified or evolved enough to be able to understand and absorb, still am not, for that matter. It’s so rich and it has layers upon layers of emotion and wisdom, it’s really unlike anything I’ve ever known before. So hopefully, I will learn with time and get better at it, because I want to, desperately. If any of you can help, that would be great. πŸ˜‰

So, this happened when I was telling my sister about how great and all Urdu is, and how I will never be able to write anything in Urdu. Suddenly, this line started ringing in my head, like it does when a poem is on it’s way. I was so beyond astonished and I wrote it down, and after that I finished the whole poem in like a day and a half. I’ve gotta say,all it felt like was purity. Seriously there’s no other word for the experience.

Okay so I think I’ve blabbered enough. I hope you enjoy the poem, and I hope that I haven’t done the language wrong. “Gum”Β means “lost”. Just so you know. πŸ™‚

Here it is.

7 thoughts on “First ever Urdu poem: “GUM”- My thoughts

  1. Been wowed …by that description of Urdu poetry!
    GUM….lost….oka πŸ˜€
    ( The first time I read the title I thought it was GUM as in bubble GUM hehe :P)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

